A bit of history about the IEBRA

We want to take this time to thank the many members who have helped support this club from the beginning and throughout the past years, you all have helped build the outstanding club we have today.

- The IEBRA was started in 1995.
- Some of our founding members were Debbie Clinton, Cindy Lemke, Claudia Johnson, Connie Zimmer, and Joyce Merrill. If there are any others that are not mentioned, thank you for helping build this organization.
- These people got together to try and form a club that was close to home so they would no longer have to travel so far. They decided on the counties that were included, which held for 10 years, until the club voted to extend the boundaries by one county in all directions in 2005.
- At the 1st general meeting 30 members were present.
- The first Secretary was Debbie Clinton.
- The first President was Cindy Lemke.
- The dues were \$15 for an individual and \$25 for a family.
- In February of the 1st year there were 49 members and in July of that same year we grew to 85 members.
- Our competitive year started January 1st and ended October 31st.
- We had 22 races the 1st year. And would have 2 races on the same day. One at 10am at Saddle Warmers and another at 4:30pm the same day at Springdale Rodeo Arena.
- March 25th was the 1st race (in 1995) at Mission Park in Spokane.
- The last race was on October 21st.
- Most of the races the 1st year were held at Saddle Warmers Arena.
- We also used Davenport Fairgrounds, Springdale Rodeo Arena, Cheney Rodeo Arena, The Sheriff's Posse Arena, Merlin Farms Arena, Tyler (Nan Warrens) arena
- Year end awards were determined by the points system.
- The first awards banquet was held at the Deer Park Arcadia School and was catered.
- The club only had \$2000 to spend on awards. So, it was decided that they would place to 4 in each division for yearend awards.
- That year the awards were:
 - 1st place received a Kenny Hansen Silver Buckle.
 - 2nd place a silver watch band.
 - 3rd place a monogrammed Horse Blanket.
 - 4th place a monogrammed Navaho saddle blanket.
- As the years passed and more members joined the top 4 in each division then received 2 awards. Anyone receiving awards today should consider themselves very lucky because our club has grown considerably and is able to present a number of nice awards.
- So when you look around today and see your fellow barrel racers and friends, know that you all have many things in common. The love of horses, the love for the sport of barrel racing, and that each and every one of you have helped to make this club what it is today.